Stacking The Shelves (35)

STSmall

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.
It’s all about sharing the books we’ve picked up for the week, whether they are bought, borrowed, gifted, galleys, physical or virtual.
Share your shelves and remember to visit Tynga’s Reviews where it all started to find more great books!

PURCHASED

Shadowburbia

Teen sisters Lola and Jules McCormick have faced many dangers on the road with their shadow warrior family, but nothing prepared them for their newest challenge – high school.

After their warrior mother has a midlife crisis, ditches their dad, and moves the family to the suburbs, the girls are forced into school for the first time. A private high school, Amber Hall is filled with creatures the sisters normally hunt. Temperamental Lola is challenged to give up her “hit people and ask questions later” mentality as she also deals with missing her shadow warrior boyfriend. Painfully shy Jules just hopes to disappear into the crowd, but instead gains the notice of a young shifter.

Even if the sisters can embrace this new life, an old enemy plans to turn their suburb into a bloodbath.

I’ve been wanting to read this for a while and snatched it up while it was free on Amazon. Sorry, Angela!

Blue Sacrifice (Blue Davison, #1)

Blue Davison’s destiny has always been to die.

For hundreds of years, Davison women have sacrificed themselves for Lily Falls and this time the town expects sixteen year old Blue to welcome death.

Yet charmer Flynn O’Shea arrives in time to thwart Blue’s suicide plan. While she initially dismisses his perfect timing as a mere fluke, Blue soon wonders if the gorgeous newcomer is an opportunity for her to create a new destiny full of romance and promise. No matter Blue’s hopes and Flynn’s charms, the darkness in Lily Falls refuses to be denied its sacrifice.

Another free Angela Horn book… I should give this poor lady some money. But doesn’t it sound interesting?

 

For Review

 

The Keepers (The Keepers Trilogy, #1)

Ava’s ordinary life is shattered when she is attacked and becomes involved in a secret society of magic.

Alongside the Keepers, Ava needs to mediate as the magics collide and are becoming out of control. She must Keep the increasing amount of secrets safe – even from her family. But there’s a rising tension within this group as Ava replaces a fallen Keeper, and it becomes an issue of trust. The Rogues, betrayers to this creed, threaten to devastate the Keepers, who think themselves safe.

It will take both Ava’s inner and outer strength to overcome the chaos, or as she now knows, the Visma and, by extension, the mysterious Rogues that surround her.

J.L. Block asked me to review this novel. I think it sounds very interesting! And it’s high fantasy, so yay!

ARC

Sworn to Raise (Courtlight #1)

Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the kingdom. But beneath her kingdom’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

I couldn’t resist this cover or this blurb on Netgalley, and luckily I was approved! Also, it is apparently ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore and Maria V Snyder. HELLO, SIGN ME UP!

Nemo
Nemo

About Nemo

A lover of kittens and all things sparkly, Nemo has a degree in English Literature and specialises in reviewing contemporary, paranormal, mystery/thriller, historical, sci-fi and fantasy Young Adult fiction. She is especially drawn to novels about princesses, strong female friendships, magical powers, and assassins.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,810 other subscribers

22 thoughts on “Stacking The Shelves (35)

    1. Nemo

      It was the cover of Shadowburbia that first drew my interest, but it sounds just like my kind of book! Thank you!

Comments are closed.