Stacking The Shelves (71)

button Stacking the Shelves

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.
It’s all about sharing the books we’ve picked up for the week, whether they are bought, borrowed, gifted, galleys, physical or virtual.
Share your shelves and remember to visit Tynga’s Reviews where it all started to find more great books!

For Review:

White Space (Dark Passages, #1)

In the tradition of Memento and Inception comes a thrilling and scary young adult novel about blurred reality where characters in a story find that a deadly and horrifying world exists in the space between the written lines.

Seventeen-year-old Emma Lindsay has problems: a head full of metal, no parents, a crazy artist for a guardian whom a stroke has turned into a vegetable, and all those times when she blinks away, dropping into other lives so ghostly and surreal it’s as if the story of her life bleeds into theirs. But one thing Emma has never doubted is that she’s real.

Then she writes “White Space,” a story about these kids stranded in a spooky house during a blizzard.

Unfortunately, “White Space” turns out to be a dead ringer for part of an unfinished novel by a long-dead writer. The manuscript, which she’s never seen, is a loopy Matrix meets Inkheart story in which characters fall out of different books and jump off the page. Thing is, when Emma blinks, she might be doing the same and, before long, she’s dropped into the very story she thought she’d written. Trapped in a weird, snow-choked valley, Emma meets other kids with dark secrets and strange abilities: Eric, Casey, Bode, Rima, and a very special little girl, Lizzie. What they discover is that they–and Emma–may be nothing more than characters written into being from an alternative universe for a very specific purpose.

Now what they must uncover is why they’ve been brought to this place–a world between the lines where parallel realities are created and destroyed and nightmares are written–before someone pens their end.

I um… seem to have a thing for requesting books with low ratings. I want to give them a chance! I did the same with Anything to Have You last week. This week, this book has an average of 2.89 on Goodreads. But this one sounds complicated, like The Matrix crossed with Memento and Inkheart. Also, I have always wanted to read a book where the main character falls into a book they’re writing. God, I hope I like it!
Thank you, Edelweiss and EgmontUSA!

Freebies

Cinderella is Evil

History is told from one person’s perspective. Sometimes they don’t get it right.

Ugly Stepsister Anna has wrongly been accused of being mean and evil. Now it is time she got the opportunity to tell her side of the story.

With Cinderella so perfect and wonderful, it is no wonder Anna feels ugly in comparison. Dealing with bullies, a grumpy mother and the death of her step-father, Anna is at her wits end.

When the Prince’s ball approaches, Anna is told she must find a husband to save the family fortune. Attending with her sisters, the sulky Prince Charming only has eyes for Cinderella.

With the burden of being the only one to unite her step-sister with the Prince, will Anna act as cupid? Or will she protect Cinderella from the arrogant Charming?

A charming twist to the story of Cinderella, told completely from the point of view of the Ugly Step-Sister.

I’m on the lookout for fairytale retellings and snapped up some freebies in the past couple of weeks.

UnEnchanted (An Unfortunate Fairy Tale, #1)

Mina Grime is unlucky, unpopular and uncoordinated, that is until she saves her crush’s life on a field trip, changing her High School status from loser to hero overnight. But with her newfound fame brings misfortune as an old family curse come to light. For Mina is descended from the Brothers Grimm and has inherited all of their unfinished fairy tale business. Which includes trying to outwit a powerful Story from making her its next fairytale victim.

To break the fairy tale curse on her family and stop these deadly events, Mina must finish the tales until the very Grimm end.

I have heard lots of mixed things about this author’s fairytale retellings and will make up my own mind upon reading.

Views from the Depths

A mermaid willing to trade her life for love…

A young girl whose beauty can drive people mad…

Twelve sisters with a mysterious addiction…

A beast that can only be transformed by love…

Views from the Depths is a collection of four short stories told from perspectives of multiple characters. Each of these stories takes an in-depth and sometimes melancholy look at some of your favorite fairy tales.
Includes adaptations of The Little Mermaid, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, The Twelve Dancing Princesses, and Beauty and the Beast.
Views from the Depths is approximately 20,000 words in length.

So pretty! And I’m willing to give short fiction a go, too.

Evolution (Evolution, #1)

Seventeen year old Jade Sommers life tuned upside down the moment she saw the inch long cut across her face, heal right before her eyes.

Jade thought she was going insane, but her boyfriend Aiden Scott knew better. He knew what she was. And like him, she was born this way.

Now if finding out that people like her shouldn’t exist was bad enough, Jades best friend is kidnapped by the psycho who’s terrorised her dreams. With the help of Aiden, she has to figure out how to saver her, before it’s too late.

But what Jade doesn’t know, is not everything is what it seems. She is merely a puppet in a sadistic game to find out what she is truly capable of – and the game has only just begun.

This sure sounds interesting – and isn’t the cover pretty?

Nemo
Nemo

About Nemo

A lover of kittens and all things sparkly, Nemo has a degree in English Literature and specialises in reviewing contemporary, paranormal, mystery/thriller, historical, sci-fi and fantasy Young Adult fiction. She is especially drawn to novels about princesses, strong female friendships, magical powers, and assassins.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,761 other subscribers

20 thoughts on “Stacking The Shelves (71)

  1. thebrightspark

    Ooh, some gorgeous covers there. The first one particularly catches my eye. (They say don’t judge a book by its cover, but sometimes you can’t help it, right?) I hope you enjoy them!

    My STS, if you’re interested!

    1. Nemo

      They say don’t judge a book by its cover, but they’re WRONG. Books are meant to be judged by their covers. It’s called marketing. For more, see this rant.

  2. Jackie

    What a great selection of Fairy Tale remakes – they all sound great! 😀 Also, holy gorgeous covers! Fantastic haul this week! Happy Reading!

    1. Nemo

      The ‘mixed things’ is exactly why I want to give it a try: I don’t often love what my friends love but I often love what they are ‘meh’ about. We’ll see! I really hope I like it.

  3. Molly@ReviewsByMolly

    Cinderella Is Evil and Unchanted both sound amazing! Happy Reading! If you’d like, you can stop by my STS Following your blog and,if you’re not already following mine, would love a follow back please, 🙂

  4. Reviews from a Bookworm

    Great haul! I got White Space when it was first up on EW and have put it off ever since because of the low ratings. I’m definitely going to give it a chance, but the last book I tried that had low rating (it was Anything To Have You) it didn’t got well. I hope you enjoy all of your books My STS.

    1. Nemo

      I know, I requested Anything to Have You before it started getting low ratings, and now I’m really nervous about reading it. I still want to give it a chance, though!

Comments are closed.