Stacking the Shelves (107)

Stacking-the-Shelves

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.
It’s all about sharing the books we’ve picked up for the week, whether they are bought, borrowed, gifted, galleys, physical or virtual.
Share your shelves and remember to visit Tynga’s Reviews where it all started to find more great books!

 (Click on the cover to go to Goodreads)

For Review:

Shadow Study (Soulfinders, #1)

Once, only her own life hung in the balance…

New York Times bestselling author Maria V. Snyder wowed readers with Poison Study, the unforgettable story of poison taster Yelena. Now she’s back with a new tale of intrigue…

Oddly enough, when Yelena was a poison taster, her life was simpler. But she’d survived to become a vital part of the balance of power between rival countries Ixia and Sitia. Now she uses her magic to keep the peace in both lands — and protect her relationship with Valek.

Suddenly, though, they are beset on all sides by those vying for power through politics and intrigue. Valek’s job — and his life — are in danger. As Yelena tries to uncover the scope of these plots, she faces a new challenge: her magic is blocked. She must keep that a secret — or her enemies will discover just how vulnerable she really is — while searching for who or what is responsible for neutralizing her powers.

Yes, the days of tasting poisons were much simpler. And certainly not as dangerous…

Maria V Snyder is my favourite author. Of course I was going to request this. Thank you, Harlequin Aus!


Soulprint

Alina Chase has spent her entire life in confinement. With the science of soul-printing now a reality, she is ‘protected’ for her own safety – and the safety of others – because her soul has done terrible things … or so she’s told. When Alina finally breaks out of prison, helped by a group of people with unclear motives, she begins to uncover clues left by her past life that only she can decipher. And she may not be as innocent as she once believed. Can Alina change her future, or is she fated to repeat her past and face the consequences? Perfect for fans of Sophie McKenzie.

Yes, I got this from Netgalley a few weeks ago – but it also turned up unexpectedly on my doorstep! I’ve already read and reviewed it. Thank you, Bloomsbury!


Eve’s time as a fashion model nearly destroyed her-now she’s determined to build a career behind the camera lens. But landing a coveted photography internship brings her face to face with her dark past-and her ex.

While Eve is snapping pictures, up-and-coming male model Alex is launching his career-which, for him, involves maintaining a fake relationship with his (secretly) underage co-star, Elana.

But Alex is falling for Eve, and Eve won’t let herself get hurt again. If Alex can pull off a fake love with Elana, can he convince Eve to risk a secret affair with him?

I didn’t exactly request this… I was invited to review it and clicked the button, and I think it’ll stack against my Netgalley stats if I don’t review it… so I think I’m stuck.


Purchased:

All Our Yesterdays

A brilliantly brain-warping thriller and a love story that leaps back and forth in time – All Our Yesterdays is an amazing first novel, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

Em is locked in a bare, cold cell with no comforts. Finn is in the cell next door. The Doctor is keeping them there until they tell him what he wants to know. Trouble is, what he wants to know hasn’t happened yet.

Em and Finn have a shared past, but no future unless they can find a way out. The present is torture – being kept apart, overhearing each other’s anguish as the Doctor relentlessly seeks answers. There’s no way back from here, to what they used to be, the world they used to know. Then Em finds a note in her cell which changes everything. It’s from her future self and contains some simple but very clear instructions. Em must travel back in time to avert a tragedy that’s about to unfold. Worse, she has to pursue and kill the boy she loves to change the future.

I knew this book was familiar, but I couldn’t remember if I actually wanted to read it until I read the blurb, and thought, wow, that sounds fantastic! And when I checked on Goodreads, I did want to read it, so score!


Foretold: 14 Tales of Prophecy and Prediction

Richelle Mead, Lisa McMann, Michael Grant, Meg Cabot, Laini Taylor, and nine more of the hottest YA authors to hit the shelves explore the concepts of prophecy and prediction in this story collection edited byNYT bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth, Carrie Ryan.

Have you ever been tempted to look into the future? To challenge predictions? To question fate? It’s human nature to wonder about life’s twists and turns. But is the future already written—or do you have the power to alter it?

From fantastical prophecies to predictions of how the future will transpire,Foretold is a collection of stories about our universal fascination with life’s unknowns and of what is yet to come as interpreted by 14 of young adult fiction’s brightest stars.

Luckily I was going through my to-reads list the other day, refreshing my memory of what I wanted to read and purging those I was no longer interested in. When I saw this in the shop, I swooped on it!


Stolen Songbird (The Malediction Trilogy, #1)

For those who have loved Seraphina and Graceling comes another truly fabulous fantasy…

For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the ruins of Forsaken Mountain. Time enough for their dark and nefarious magic to fade from human memory and into myth. But a prophesy has been spoken of a union with the power to set the trolls free, and when Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she learns there is far more to the myth of the trolls than she could have imagined.

Cécile has only one thing on her mind after she is brought to Trollus: escape. Only the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time, wait for the perfect opportunity.

But something unexpected happens while she’s waiting – she begins to fall for the enigmatic troll prince to whom she has been bonded and married. She begins to make friends. And she begins to see that she may be the only hope for the half-bloods – part troll, part human creatures who are slaves to the full-blooded trolls. There is a rebellion brewing. And her prince, Tristan, the future king, is its secret leader.

As Cécile becomes involved in the intricate political games of Trollus, she becomes more than a farmer’s daughter. She becomes a princess, the hope of a people, and a witch with magic powerful enough to change Trollus forever.

It was my friend Khahn’s review that made me want to read this book, so when it dropped in price down to $1.99 I snapped it up!


Deep Blue (Waterfire Saga, #1)

When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be about reuniting with handsome Prince Mahdi, her childhood crush. Instead she finds herself haunted by strange dreams foretelling the return of an ancient evil, and dealing with the deaths of her parents as assassins storm the betrothal ceremony, plunging the city into chaos. Led only by her shadowy dreams and pursued by the invading army, Serafina and her best friend Neela embark on a quest to avenge her parents’ death and prevent a war between the mer nations. In the process they discover a plot that threatens their – and our – world’s very existence.

Oh, I don’t know. I’ve never read a mermaid book before. I really wanted to buy a book and this was the best-sounding one of a very poor bunch. But ‘Percy Jackson with mermaids’ sounds pretty awesome, right?


2: Rogue Wave (Waterfire Saga)

Serafina, heir to the throne of Miromara, and her best friend Neela have escaped Captain Traho and the invading army, only to find themselves the wrong side of a mirror, in Lord Rorrim’s realm…

This book was right next to the one above, and it’s the sequel, and I really don’t have any excuse other than that.


Indelible (The Twixt, #1)

Some things are permanent. Indelible.
And they cannot be changed back.

Joy Malone learns this the night she sees a stranger with all-black eyes across a crowded room—right before the mystery boy tries to cut out her eye.

Instead, the wound accidentally marks her as property of Indelible Ink, and this dangerous mistake thrusts Joy into an incomprehensible world—a world of monsters at the window, glowing girls on the doorstep, and a life that will never be the same.

Now, Joy must pretend to be Ink’s chosen one—his helper, his love, his something for the foreseeable future…and failure to be convincing means a painful death for them both.

Swept into a world of monsters, illusion, immortal honor and revenge, Joy discovers that sometimes, there are no mistakes.

Somewhere between reality and myth lies… THE TWIXT

Remember in my last Stacking the Shelves how I lamented buying the second book in a trilogy? Well, I tracked down the first book with the matching cover. The second one still sounds better, though.

Nemo
Nemo

About Nemo

A lover of kittens and all things sparkly, Nemo specialises in reading and reviewing contemporary, paranormal, mystery, historical, sci-fi and fantasy Young Adult fiction. She especially loves novels about princesses, strong female friendships, magical powers, healing, and assassins.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,833 other subscribers

18 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (107)

  1. Vlora

    I bought Poison Study a couple of weeks (months?) back and I haven’t read it yet, but it sounds amazing, so I’m glad you like the author! Soul Print sounds pretty good; I might give it a try at some point. I’ll also have to check out a couple of reviews for Jennifer Donnelly’s mermaid book because I remember reading Revolution a couple of years ago and liking it. Plus, mermaids sound INTRIGUING.

    Enjoy your books! 🙂

    1. Nemo

      I can’t believe Poison Study is still going so strongly after being published so long ago! And I haven’t actually read a mermaid book yet, so here’s hoping it’s good!

    1. Nemo

      I simply couldn’t believe our luck when Snyder announced a new trilogy. It just shows how popular Poison Study is after all these years!

  2. Jamie

    All Our Yesterdays is one I still really want to read. Deep Blue was a decent read. I didn’t realize the sequel came out until now though (guess I need to see if my library has it now). I hope you enjoy all of these! Happy Reading!

    Jamie recently posted: Stacking the Shelves 68

Comments are closed.