If You Love the Game of Thrones Women, You’ll Love These YA Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.
It’s all about bookish lists!
Share your lists and remember to stop by The Broke and the Bookish to see where it all began.


Top Ten Recs for People Who Love the Women from ‘Game of Thrones’

By ‘love the women from Game of Thrones’ I mean the kind of women characters who are unconventional in classic, male-driven fantasy: non-token characters, kick ass, tough but still feminine, powerful, maybe warriors or murderers or even diplomats, sometimes queens, and all are three-dimensional, multi-layered characters written with agendas of their own and no apologies.

  1. Katniss from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  2. Katsa from Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  3. Yelena from Poison Study by Maria V Snyder
  4. Rose from Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
  5. Iris from The Hypnotic City by Andrea Berthot
  6. Nym from Storm Siren by Mary Weber
  7. Feyre from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas
  8. Emalina from Ruined by Amy Tintera
  9. Cat from A Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet
  10. Mirabella, Katharine and Arsinoe from Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Have you read any of these books? Have you seen Game of Throne? Do you agree that the female characters named here would fit in with the ladies of Game of Thrones? Let me know your favourite Game of Thrones lady in the comments, or comment with another strong female character you think should join this list! I’m always looking for these types of girls to read about.

 

Save

Nemo
Nemo

About Nemo

A lover of kittens and all things sparkly, Nemo specialises in reading and reviewing contemporary, paranormal, historical, sci-fi and fantasy Young Adult fiction. She especially loves novels about princesses, strong female friendships, magical powers, healing, and assassins.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,893 other subscribers

8 thoughts on “If You Love the Game of Thrones Women, You’ll Love These YA Books

  1. Amara

    This is such a great idea for a recs list; I wish I’d thought of it! 😉 The women of Game of Thrones are really one of the series’s primary appeals for me (and plenty of other viewers, of course), and I’ll definitely have to keep this list in mind going forward, since I haven’t read most of the books you’ve referred to (I’m not the most eclectic YA reader).

    As my own additional rec, I’d throw in Alanna from Song of the Lioness by Tamora Pierce (and, hell, most of the other Tortall protagonists). Her story is absolutely what I think Arya would’ve wanted for herself in an ideal, not-written-by-GRRM world.

    Hope you’re having a great week!

  2. Enola

    I haven’t seen much of Game of Thrones series however I do know that a lot of people follow it as well due to all the hype in social media. I am just happy to know that women are depicted as strong, tough and kick ass. It is some sort of women empowerment for not in all places that women and men are treated as equal.

    1. Nemo

      The women aren’t really treated as equal, it’s still very much a patriarchy, but these female characters manage to win their way into roles of power, or gain power themselves, and respect, and it really is a leadership tussle between women leaders which I’m quite excited about since traditionally fantasy is quite male-centric (ie Lord of the Rings where the the token female was a male elf with long blonde hair).

Leave a Reply

*

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)