Stacking the Shelves (214)

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme created by Tynga’s Reviews and hosted by Reading Reality.
It’s all about sharing the books we’ve picked up for the week, whether they are bought, borrowed, gifted, galleys, physical or virtual.
Share your shelves and remember to visit Tynga’s Reviews where it all started to find more great books!


For Review

Thanks to Netgalley and Tor Teen for providing me with a copy of this book for review!

Sisters of Shadow and Light (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #1)

Sisters of Shadow and Light by Sara B Larson

From the acclaimed author of DEFY, Sara B. Larson, SISTERS OF SHADOW AND LIGHT is a timeless and fantastical tale of sisterly love and powerful magic

“The night my sister was born, the stars died and were reborn in her eyes…”.

Zuhra and Inara have grown up in the Citadel of the Paladins, an abandoned fortress where legendary, magical warriors once lived before disappearing from the world―including their Paladin father the night Inara was born.

On that same night, a massive, magical hedge grew and imprisoned them within the citadel. Inara inherited their father’s Paladin power; her eyes glow blue and she is able to make plants grow at unbelievable rates, but she has been trapped in her own mind because of a “roar” that drowns everything else out―leaving Zuhra virtually alone with their emotionally broken human mother.

For fifteen years they have lived, trapped in the citadel, with little contact from the outside world…until the day a stranger passes through the hedge, and everything changes.

“Sisterly love and powerful magic” – that’s my jam!

Purchased

36670012. sx318

Space is Cool as Fuck by Kate Howells & Friends

Artists and scientists collide on the magical, wonderful infinity and possibility of space

Taking all the best bits of science and fusing it all together, Space is Cool as Fuck will be finding a permanent home on living room tables around the world. With a brief history of the whole universe, you’ll be left scratching your head and gazing up in absolute wonder.

Everything you thought you could never understand about the universe is explained in plain-old filthy English. Giving you a little taste of the glorious reality you inhabit by providing an introduction to some of the incredible stuff out there.

Over 50 chapters on subjects including:

  • What actually happened during the big bang
  • black holes
  • time travel
  • the degenerate astronomer who drank all night and died from holding his bladder… and also lost his nose in a duel
  • the things you take for granted until you really think about them; like matter – what the fuck is all this shit that we are?

Space is Cool as Fuck features more than 100 wild artworks, photographs and illustrations from 40 international young artists curated by brilliant designer Cynthia Larenas. From hand-picked unknowns like Kate Kurucz and Adrian du P.B. through up-and-comers like Aida Azin, Waiton Fong and Cal Sinadinovic, to the more established Kareena Zerefos, Chrissie Abbot, Uno Moralez, Regan Tanamui (Ha Ha) and Marina Zumi, each artist brings their own aesthetic to the majesty and wonder of space giving the book its exquisitely eclectic style.

#sorrynotsorry

Borrowed

The Stranger Game

The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby

The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance.

When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties.

Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found.

But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden and athletic; timid and unsure, instead of brash and competitive; and strangest of all, sweet and kind, when she had once been mean and abusive. Sarah’s retrograde amnesia has caused her to forget almost everything about her life, from small things like the plots of her favorite books and her tennis game to the more critical—where she’s been the last four years and what happened at the park on the fateful day she vanished. Despite the happy ending, the dark details of that day continue to haunt Nico, and it becomes clear that more than one person knows the true story of what happened to Sarah. . . .

Borrowed from my local library on audio.

What books did you get this week? Have you read any of these and what did you think? Share the love in the comments below!

Nemo
Nemo

About Nemo

A lover of kittens and all things sparkly, Nemo specialises in reading and reviewing contemporary, paranormal, historical, sci-fi and fantasy Young Adult fiction. She especially loves novels about princesses, strong female friendships, magical powers, healing, and assassins.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,839 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

*

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.