Stacking the Shelves (222)

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme created by Tynga’s Reviews and hosted by Reading Reality.
It’s all about sharing the books we’ve picked up for the week, whether they are bought, borrowed, gifted, galleys, physical or virtual.
Share your shelves and remember to visit Tynga’s Reviews where it all started to find more great books!


For Review

Thanks to Balzar + Bray and Edelweiss for providing me with a copy of this book for review!

A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin, #1)

The first in an immersive fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder each other despite their growing attraction—from debut author Roseanne A. Brown. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Renée Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir.

For Malik, the Solstasia festival is a chance to escape his war-stricken home and start a new life with his sisters in the prosperous desert city of Ziran. But when a vengeful spirit abducts Malik’s younger sister, Nadia, as payment into the city, Malik strikes a fatal deal—kill Karina, Crown Princess of Ziran, for Nadia’s freedom.

But Karina has deadly aspirations of her own. Her mother, the Sultana, has been assassinated; her court threatens mutiny; and Solstasia looms like a knife over her neck. Grief-stricken, Karina decides to resurrect her mother through ancient magic . . . requiring the beating heart of a king. And she knows just how to obtain one: by offering her hand in marriage to the victor of the Solstasia competition.

When Malik rigs his way into the contest, they are set on a heart-pounding course to destroy each other. But as attraction flares between them and ancient evils stir, will they be able to see their tasks to the death?

Everything about this sounds amazing.

Purchased

Let It Go

Let It Go/Conceal Don’t Feel  by Jen Calonita

What if Anna and Elsa never knew each other? When a magical accident erases Anna and Elsa’s memories, not only of magic but of each other, the sisters are separated for protection. But when Elsa unexpectedly finds herself as a young queen, mysterious magic begins to happen and questions of her past start to form. Will the sisters ever be reunited?

I am trash for Frozen.


Shadows of Winterspell

Shadows of Winterspell by Amy Wilson

Stella has been living behind the magic of the forest for most of her life. Lonely, she enrolls at the local school, and as she begins to make friends, she discovers that she is even more different than she thought. But as autumn turns to magical winter, Stella realizes that uncovering her own family secret is the only way to release the forest from the grip of a dark and old magic.

This book sounds so adorable. I actually forgot it was already on my library wishlist and I forgot to check because I read the blurb and kind of lost my mind. With every book I want to buy, I normally first check if it is available at my library because there are a lot of books I want to buy and this hobby is expensive, yo, I can’t afford them all. But I’m glad I bought this because it sounds adorable.


Black Beauty

Black Beauty by Anna Sewell illustrated by Christian Birmingham

Over fifty stunning illustrations from acclaimed artist Christian Birmingham bring this treasured classic new life.

When Black Beauty was born one sweet spring day, he could not have imagined the life ahead of him. Following his mother’s advice to do his work with a good will, he enjoys the adventures of country and city life, makes new friends, and suffers from the cruelty and greed of his human masters. Beauty faces each challenge with bravery and kindness — and then a chance encounter with an old friend brings him the greatest joy of all. Anna Sewell’s classic horse story has captivated generations of readers since it was first published 140 years ago. This enchanting edition features the full unabridged text and Christian Birmingham’s gorgeous color and black-and-white illustrations depicting Beauty’s nineteenth-century world.

Black Beauty is one of my favourite books ever and I have long desired a hardcover version to add to my personal library.


What books did you get this week? Have you read any of these and what did you think? Share the love in the comments below!

Nemo
Nemo

About Nemo

A lover of kittens and all things sparkly, Nemo has a degree in English Literature and specialises in reviewing contemporary, paranormal, mystery/thriller, historical, sci-fi and fantasy Young Adult fiction. She is especially drawn to novels about princesses, strong female friendships, magical powers, and assassins.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,809 other subscribers

2 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (222)

Comments are closed.