Stacking the Shelves (245)

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme created by Tynga’s Reviews and hosted by Reading Reality.
It’s all about sharing the books we’ve picked up for the week, whether they are bought, borrowed, gifted, galleys, physical or virtual.
Share your shelves and remember to visit Reading Reality to find more great books!


Purchased

Our Year of Maybe

Our Year of Maybe by Rachel Lynn Solomon

From the author of You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone comes a stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Five Feet Apart, that examines the complicated aftermath of unrequited love between best friends.

Aspiring choreographer Sophie Orenstein would do anything for Peter Rosenthal-Porter, who’s been on the kidney transplant list as long as she’s known him. Peter, a gifted pianist, is everything to Sophie: best friend, musical collaborator, secret crush. When she learns she’s a match, donating a kidney is an easy, obvious choice. She can’t help wondering if after the transplant, he’ll love her back the way she’s always wanted.

But Peter’s life post-transplant isn’t what either of them expected. Though he once had feelings for Sophie, too, he’s now drawn to Chase, the guitarist in a band that happens to be looking for a keyboardist. And while neglected parts of Sophie’s world are calling to her—dance opportunities, new friends, a sister and niece she barely knows—she longs for a now-distant Peter more than ever, growing increasingly bitter he doesn’t seem to feel the same connection.

Peter fears he’ll forever be indebted to her. Sophie isn’t sure who she is without him. Then one heartbreaking night twists their relationship into something neither of them recognizes, leading them to question their past, their future, and whether their friendship is even worth fighting for.

Yeah, you got me: this doesn’t really seem like a ‘Nemo’ kind of book, does it?

But around the time I met my husband, I was enveloped in a few heart-breaking/unrequited love triangles (actually my now-husband made up one point in a few of those love triangles. It was very complicated, exhausting, and emotionally painful). The cover of this was cute enough to make me pick it up, then I liked the sound of the blurb, but I did have to take a tiny peek at the back of the book because I didn’t want a particular ending. When I saw how it ended, I was happy to buy it and go on this journey with these characters.

Sometimes you need a spoiler.


Borrowed

50231742. sx318 sy475

Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely

James Patterson presents a bold new heroine-a cross between Katniss Everdeen and Annie Oakley: Serendipity Jones, the fastest sharpshooter in tomorrow’s West.

Seventeen-year-old Serendipity “Pity” Jones inherited two things from her mother: a pair of six shooters and perfect aim. She’s been offered a life of fame and fortune in Cessation, a glittering city where lawlessness is a way of life. But the price she pays for her freedom may be too great….

In this extraordinary debut from Lyndsay Ely, the West is once again wild after a Second Civil War fractures the U.S. into a broken, dangerous land. Pity’s struggle against the dark and twisted underbelly of a corrupt city will haunt you long after the final bullet is shot.

I borrowed a new audiobook (that shall not be named) from my local library and then checked the reviews. Turned out that was a bad choice. So I returned it unread and looked at my oldest audiobooks on my wishlist.

This was one of them. I’ve been putting off borrowing it because I’m not really into Westerns or American civil wars. Then I remembered how much I loved Dread Nation by Justina Ireland, so i thought, well, I’ll just check the reviews for Gunslinger Girl.

I’m glad I did. Apparently the blurb is quite bad and not at all accurate of the story. Apparently it’s really a dystopian Western/somehow futuristic, and the lead character gets a job in a sideshow as a gunslinger. That sounds so much more interesting than the blurb! I’m pretty excited to listen to this, now.


What books did you get this week? Have you read any of these and what did you think? Share the love in the comments below!

Nemo
Nemo

About Nemo

A lover of kittens and all things sparkly, Nemo has a degree in English Literature and specialises in reviewing contemporary, paranormal, mystery/thriller, historical, sci-fi and fantasy Young Adult fiction. She is especially drawn to novels about princesses, strong female friendships, magical powers, and assassins.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,810 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

*

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.