Can’t Wait For Cast in Firelight

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings. It replaced Waiting on Wednesday (formerly hosted by Breaking The Spine) as the weekly meme spotlighting upcoming releases we’re eagerly anticipating.
Share your books and remember to visit Wishful Endings for more great books!


This week I can’t wait for:

Cast in Firelight (Wickery, #1)

Cast in Firelight by Dana Swift

Expected publication: 19 January 2021

Publisher: Delacorte Press

From Goodreads:

The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal, and Renée Ahdieh.

Adraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of taking her royal ceremony test, and a girl who just wants to prove her worth to her people.

Jatin is the royal heir to Naupure, a competitive wizard who’s mastered all nine colors of magic, and a boy anxious to return home for the first time since he was a child.

Together, their arranged marriage will unite two of Wickery’s most powerful kingdoms. But after years of rivalry from afar, Adraa and Jatin only agree on one thing: their reunion will be anything but sweet.

Only, destiny has other plans and with the criminal underbelly of Belwar suddenly making a move for control, their paths cross…and neither realizes who the other is, adopting separate secret identities instead.

Between dodging deathly spells and keeping their true selves hidden, the pair must learn to put their trust in the other if either is to uncover the real threat. Now Wickery’s fate is in the hands of rivals..? Fiancées..? Partners..? Whatever they are, it’s complicated and bound for greatness or destruction.

Why I Can’t Wait for this book:

I’m drawn to this enemies-to-lovers (maybe?) plot and I’m really interested in this colour magic system. To top it all off, there’s secret identities! Sounds like I should enjoy this one!

Save

Save

Nemo
Nemo

About Nemo

A lover of kittens and all things sparkly, Nemo has a degree in English Literature and specialises in reviewing contemporary, paranormal, mystery/thriller, historical, sci-fi and fantasy Young Adult fiction. She is especially drawn to novels about princesses, strong female friendships, magical powers, and assassins.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,832 other subscribers