Can’t Wait For June 2021 New Releases

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings. It replaced Waiting on Wednesday (formerly hosted by Breaking The Spine) as the weekly meme spotlighting upcoming releases we’re eagerly anticipating.
Share your books and remember to visit Wishful Endings for more great books!


This week I can’t wait for:

The City of Zirdai (Archives of the Invisible Sword, #2)

The City of Zirdai by Maria V Snyder (Archives of the Invisible Sword #2)

Expected publication: 2 June 2021

Publisher: Harlequin Teen Aus

From Goodreads:

Through her courage and tenacity, Shyla Sun-Kissed has awoken the power of The Eyes of Tamburah. But this feat only marks the beginning of the challenges that the magical order, the Invisible Sword, faces to free the underground city of Zirdai.

Though they have allies among the monks and splinter cells inside the city, Shyla knows the Invisible Sword doesn’t have the strength to win. With the group fracturing due to the strain of losses from their latest ordeal, thinly veiled suspicions and endless disagreements, it’s up to Shyla to forge a new united order.

When both the draconian Water Prince and brutal Heliacal Priestess learn of Shyla’s new powers, life becomes even more complicated as they will stop at nothing to capture Shyla and take the magic of The Eyes for themselves. Hunted at every turn and unable to hide, Shyla and the Invisible Sword must use every resource at their command – and unearth new ones – in their race to save the city from destruction. But their enemies always seem to be one step ahead. And the cost to win the battle may be more than Shyla would ever be willing to pay…

Why I Can’t Wait for this book:

This was supposed to be published this time last year, but because of COVID-19, the publishers decided to push it back for an ENTIRE YEAR in the hopes that Snyder could get better marketing once everything had gone back to normal.

Cue hysterical laughter.

So I have an ARC of this and I will publish my review soon.


 

Strange Creatures

Strange Creatures by Phoebe North

Expected publication: 1 June 2021

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

From Goodreads:

From the moment that Annie was born, she and her older brother, Jamie, were inseparable. Alike in almost every way, they promised to always take care of each other while facing the challenges of growing up different in suburban America. And when life became too much for them, they created their own space in the woods behind their house: a fantasy world of their own making, where no one else could find them. And it was enough, for a while. But then came middle school when Jamie grew dark and distant. He found new friends, a girlfriend, and a life away from Annie and their shared world. By the time Annie was in eighth grade, it was as if she hardly knew the brother who was her other half.

And then, one day, he disappears.

Annie, her family, and the entire community are devastated. And as the days turn into months turn into years, everyone begins to accept that Jamie is gone for good. Everyone, that is, except Annie, who believes that Jamie, somehow, has entered the world they created, and who believes that she’s the only one who can bring him back. But as Annie searches for answers and finds a new relationship with a girl she did not expect, she makes startling discoveries about her brother’s disappearance—and has to decide how much of herself she’s willing to give up in order to keep hope alive.

As they follow the lives of Annie, Jamie, and the friends and family around them, acclaimed author Phoebe North weaves an unflinching, unforgettable story of the empty spaces inside all of us, and the devastating sacrifices we make in order to become whole

Why I Can’t Wait for this book:

Even though I wasn’t the biggest fan of North’s previous book, I still really like them as an author and I really want to support them.


 

The Witch King (The Witch King, #1)

The Witch King by H.E. Edgmon

Expected publication: 1 June 2021

Publisher: Inkyard Press

From Goodreads:

To save a fae kingdom, a trans witch must face his traumatic past and the royal fiancé he left behind. This debut YA fantasy will leave you spellbound.

Wyatt would give anything to forget where he came from—but a kingdom demands its king.

In Asalin, fae rule and witches like Wyatt Croft…don’t. Wyatt’s betrothal to his best friend, fae prince Emyr North, was supposed to change that. But when Wyatt lost control of his magic one devastating night, he fled to the human world.

Now a coldly distant Emyr has hunted him down. Despite transgender Wyatt’s newfound identity and troubling past, Emyr has no intention of dissolving their engagement. In fact, he claims they must marry now or risk losing the throne. Jaded, Wyatt strikes a deal with the enemy, hoping to escape Asalin forever. But as he gets to know Emyr, Wyatt realizes the boy he once loved may still exist. And as the witches face worsening conditions, he must decide once and for all what’s more important—his people or his freedom.

Why I Can’t Wait for this book:

I really like the idea of a royal prince hunting down their betrothed, the added LGBTQ+ spin makes it sound even more interesting, I want all the angst.

 


For the Wolf (Wilderwood, #1)

For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten

Expected publication: 1 June 2021

Publisher: Orbit Books

From Goodreads:

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose-to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he’ll return the world’s captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn’t learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood-and her world-whole.

Why I Can’t Wait for this book:

I’m really drawn to books about sisters, and even more when it’s about royalty and sacrifices. It sounds like this is a Little Red Riding Hood retelling or reimagining? And I’m very interested in it all, it just sounds really cool.

Save

Save

Nemo
Nemo

About Nemo

A lover of kittens and all things sparkly, Nemo has a degree in English Literature and specialises in reviewing contemporary, paranormal, mystery/thriller, historical, sci-fi and fantasy Young Adult fiction. She is especially drawn to novels about princesses, strong female friendships, magical powers, and assassins.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,772 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

*

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.