Stacking the Shelves (127)

Stacking-the-Shelves

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.
It’s all about sharing the books we’ve picked up for the week, whether they are bought, borrowed, gifted, galleys, physical or virtual.
Share your shelves and remember to visit Tynga’s Reviews where it all started to find more great books!


 For Review

Night Study (Study, #5)

New York Times bestselling author Maria V. Snyder transports readers back to the realms of Sitia and Ixia in an exciting new Study novel full of magic, danger and intrigue.

Ever since being kidnapped from the Illiais Jungle as a child, Yelena Zaltana’s life has been fraught with peril. But the recent loss of her Soulfinding abilities has endangered her more than ever before. As she desperately searches for a way to reclaim her magic, her enemies are closing in, and neither Ixia nor Sitia are safe for her anymore. Especially since the growing discord between the two countries and the possibility of a war threatens everything Yelena holds dear.

Valek is determined to protect Yelena, but he’s quickly running out of options. The Commander suspects that his loyalties are divided, and he’s been keeping secrets from Valek…secrets that put him, Yelena and all their friends in terrible danger. As they uncover the various layers of the Commander’s mysterious plans, they realise it’s far more sinister than they could have ever imagined.

I’ve only been waiting for this book like FOREVER. No, not really, but it sure does feel like it. I’m so very blessed to be given early access via an ARC from Hearlequin Teen Australia and Netgalley. THANK YOU.


Borrowed

Hidden (Avena, #1)

For as long as Ebony can remember, she’s been sheltered. Confined to her home in a secluded valley, home-schooled by her protective parents, and limited to a small circle of close friends. It’s as if she’s being hidden.

But something is changing in Ebony. Something that can’t be concealed. She’s growing more beautiful by the day, she’s freakishly strong, and then there’s the fact that she’s glowing.

On one fateful night, Ebony meets Jordan and she’s intensely drawn to him. It’s as if something explodes inside of her—something that can be seen from the heavens. Ebony still doesn’t know that she’s a stolen angel, but now that the heavens have found her, they want her back.

I was given the third book in this trilogy, Fearless, as a review copy, but I cleaned my house and promptly lost the book. Having found it several months later, I decided to repay Bloomsbury for a late review by reading the whole trilogy.


Bought

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart…

These days I’m trying to be more and more cynical of ‘hyped’ books, which is why I wasn’t originally interested in this one. But then I read a spoiler about something pretty awesome and said out loud, “Damn, I SO need this book!”


Defiance (Defiance #1)

Defiance by C. J. Redwine is rich postapocalyptic YA fantasy perfect for fans of Graceling and Tamora Pierce.

While the other girls in the walled city-state of Baalboden learn to sew and dance, Rachel Adams learns to track and hunt. While they bend like reeds to the will of their male Protectors, she uses hers for sparring practice.

When Rachel’s father fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the city’s brutal Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector: her father’s apprentice, Logan—the boy she declared her love to and who turned her down two years before. Left with nothing but fierce belief in her father’s survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself.

As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can’t be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.

I’ve wanted this for a while, and when the price dropped for Kindle I snatched it up.


 

26877697

When Beaufort Swan moves to the gloomy town of Forks and meets the mysterious, alluring Edythe Cullen, his life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. With her porcelain skin, golden eyes, mesmerizing voice, and supernatural gifts, Edythe is both irresistible and enigmatic.

What Beau doesn’t realize is the closer he gets to her, the more he is putting himself and those around him at risk. And, it might be too late to turn back…

In celebration of the tenth anniversary of Twilight, Stephenie Meyer has crafted Life and Death, a bold and compelling reimagining of the iconic love story that will surprise and enthrall readers. This special dual edition includes a foreword by the author as well as the complete original novel.

Yes, I did it, and I don’t care who knows it. I’m not a Twilight hater. I recognise the issues with the story and I can pick on it as much as any hater, but there’s still something about it that intrigues and entertains me. I really want to read about a love story between a mortal boy and a monstrous girl.

 

 

Nemo
Nemo

About Nemo

A lover of kittens and all things sparkly, Nemo has a degree in English Literature and specialises in reviewing contemporary, paranormal, mystery/thriller, historical, sci-fi and fantasy Young Adult fiction. She is especially drawn to novels about princesses, strong female friendships, magical powers, and assassins.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,765 other subscribers

14 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (127)

  1. Bekka

    Pretty sure I read that same spoiler as you and went ahead and bought Red Queen too haha. I also have a copy of Life and Death. I bought it when it first came out and I was really excited, but I still haven’t read it. I mean, I’m no twi-hard *or* a hater, but Twilight’s not my favorite thing ever. Still very interested to see what the heck this is all about.

    1. Nemo

      LOL I bet you’re right! Twilight’s not my favourite either, but I have wanted to see monstrous girl/mortal boy for a while.

  2. Natalie @Natflix&Books

    I definitely plan on reading Life and Death. I really enjoyed the Twilight series when it first came out. I’m not obsessed with it, but I definitely enjoyed it. I’ve been meaning to read The Red Queen and Defiance. Hope you love all your new reads!

    1. Nemo

      I enjoyed it, too! I’m saddened by how many people jumped on the hate bandwagon. It’s not the worst piece of literature in the world!

    1. Nemo

      I spoiled as much of Life and Death as I could because I wanted to be sure I REALLY wanted to buy it and not just because of hype… and yep, I still wanted to read it.

  3. Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews

    I still need to read some Snyder AND Red Queen, can you imagine?! I need to get on that soon! I’m curious to see how you’ll make out with Life and Death to be honest. I’m not a Twilight hater, but I feel like the films (or rather some of the actors involved) kind of killed my love for the series a bit. I don’t know if I’d love it as much now as I did then. I am curious about Life and Death though so I’ll be looking out for your review. Enjoy all your goodies Nemo!!

    1. Nemo

      I like how the films differ to the books while still being pretty faithful. I still want to watch the films and give the series a re-read every so often, and I can’t say that that happens to every book I’ve read!

Comments are closed.